About the writers behind Wanderlustingk

90% run by Karen: New Yorker, born and raised. I’m a travel, adventure, nature, city, dress, and cat lover.
Karen is married to Jacob: proud Kentuckian, metalhead, crazy cat man, beer snob, adventure traveler, and rock climbing addict. Also into cats.

Our life together (so far):  We met in graduate school, but we began dating after an impulsive trip together to Italy.  We moved to Amsterdam with our cat.  Wandered around Europe, worked in Paris, left Paris, and moved back to the Netherlands.

We love traveling because we love experiencing new cultures/food, exploring new natural landscapes/seeing wildlife (can be cats), and seeing new types of architecture.  Our other hobbies besides dreaming/researching adventures include via ferrata [a form of rock climbing], photography, reading, marathoning TV shows, trying new foods/beers, and hanging out with our cat.  We are both huge proponents of not quitting your job and in 2015, we’ve visited 12 countries while working full-time. We unfortunately don’t have a trust-fund, so we’re minorly addicted to playing with fares, checking out flight/train sales, and exploring as much as possible on our days off.  We’re pretty frugal, so you can read our tips for saving for travel.

Our travel style: We mostly travel together although we sometimes travel for work separately. Travels usually include lots of planning with Excel (by Karen) and reaching out to locals. We usually focus on off the beaten path places although we still enjoy museums and unique architecture, which often means that we end up in natural parks for most of our trips and staying in smaller towns. Karen is very into cultural travel, however Jacob is always about the adrenaline. We both love exploring cities while sampling a pint of beer and when possible, finding the most epic castles/caves we can find.

About Wanderlustingk: This place will mostly be stories, photos, and recommendations for anyone else visiting the places we’ve been and lived in.  Expect inspiring stories and practical advice about travel, moving abroad, expat life, adventure travel, and via ferrata. If you find an incorrect/out of date detail, comment/email us as we am happy to update it with the correct details.  To collaborate with us, please click here.

About photos (by Karen): They’re mine unless it says otherwise. I take my photos with a Nikon/Go Pro. I edit in Photoshop and VSCO if on the go. For more photos, you can follow me on Instagram!  Please do not use my photos without permission.

Where we’ve lived (so far)…

The Hague



Turin, Italy



New York